Oreo Cake!

7 Jun

I’ve been on a cake kick lately.  Today I was bored, so I made Oreo cake.  There should probably be a copyright symbol after “Oreo”, but because I don’t know how to add one I’m not gonna put one there.  Nabisco, please don’t sue me.  I know your Oreo brand is special.  Anyway, this cake looks delicious and tastes heavenly.  I judge a cake based on how good the batter tastes, and this one tastes like the inside of a dark chocolate truffle.  Yummy!  The frosting is also delicious- make sure you spread it on while the cake is still warm.  As much as you’ve been told to wait until it cools, this cake is best when the frosting sinks into it and keeps it moist.  I hate that word, “moist”.  Moist moist moist.  Ewwww.

Ignore my tangent- here’s the recipe.

First make the cake…

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, melt 1 stick of unsalted butter.  I did this in the microwave.  Stir in 3/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract, 1 large egg, and 2 tablespoons cream cheese.  Mix it all together, making sure to stir in all the chunks of cream cheese.

2. Now add 1/2 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder.  I used Hershey’s brand, which, like Oreo, should have a copyright sign.

3. Mix in 1 cup flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 cup milk.  No need to sift the dry ingredients- I’m no overachiever.

Oh wait… I sorta am.  Sorry. :/

4. Line an 8×8-inch square pan with foil, and spray the foil with cooking spray.  Pour in the batter and bake for 30 minutes.

 

While the cake is baking, make the frosting…

1. Soften 4 tablespoons of butter, and put it in a medium bowl with 2 tablespoons cream cheese.  If you don’t have cream cheese, just substitute it with more butter.

2. Gradually add 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar.  Then, for the fun part.  Crush 5 Oreo cookies- pick your favorite type, and stir them into the frosting.  Put it in the fridge until the cake is done.

image

 

Now, to decorate…

1. Frost the warm cake with the frosting- it’s okay if it melts into the cake.

2. Top with some more crushed Oreo cookies if you’re in the mood.  I sure was.

2 Responses to “Oreo Cake!”

  1. CourtandWhit June 7, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    Dang girl, you have been making some awesome cakes lately! Maybe you should get into the baking business 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No Title Ideas?! « courtney runs - June 17, 2010

    […] I’m from way up north, but if you’ve been reading for longer than a day, or at least since the copyright Oreo cake post, you’ll know that I’m not one to follow the […]

Leave a Reply

