A Motivational Story

17 Jul

I have a little story to share.  It will make you feel super good about yourself.  I think that’s reason enough to read it. 🙂

Near the end of the first week of camp, one of the guys decided to get a group together for an evening run.  Ordinarily, I’d be excited to go running, but not this time.  I was tired, I had to study, it was hot outside, and my allergies were really bad.  But we had some beginners coming along and were going to walk if necessary, so I went to provide moral support.  You know I never turn down an opportunity to convert people into runners…darksideAnyway, so we’re off on our merry little way, and within 30 seconds, two groups form.  4 of us (me included) go ahead of the pack, while the rest stay at a steady jog.  Everyone knew their way around, so I wasn’t concerned that the other group would get lost.  My group consisted of two guys, both fairly fit, another girl who runs regularly, and myself.  Then something amazing happens…

The guys fall behind.  And no offense to any of my boy readers (are there any??), but they fell way behind.  Like, we couldn’t even see them after the first half mile.  So the other girl and I kept running.  Fast.  We completed 3.5 miles in 30 minutes, and when we got back to the dorm, I felt amazing.  Why?

( a ) I ran 3.5 miles after a long day of classes in the burning heat

( b ) I ran 3.5 miles even though I really really didn’t want to

( c ) I ran 3.5 miles in the same time it took the boys to run 2

So yeah, if you want to prove how BA you are and disprove the notion that boys are stronger than girls, take up running.  You don’t have to be fast, you just have to have determination.  The speed and endurance will come.  Our bodies evolved to have endurance, and that means YOURS did, too.  I’m not instructing you to run, but if you’ve ever wanted to try it, get out there!  You never know what you’re capable of until you try. 😀

One Response to “A Motivational Story”

  1. A Teenage Gourmet July 18, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    GO YOU! 🙂 I like the bolded bit at the end because it makes me think of how I am with art. I didn’t know that I could draw and paint well, until I tried!

Leave a Reply

