Nutritious Banana Muffins

4 Aug

Muffins 009

I don’t like calling these “healthy”.  Not that they aren’t, it’s just one of those words that bothers me.  I think it can be applied to drugs (smoking isn’t healthy), obesity (weighing 1,000 pounds isn’t healthy), and other medical conditions, but it shouldn’t be used to describe trivial things like muffins.  I hate it when people say to me…

“Why do you eat so healthy?”

       I don’t.

“Ohh you’re so lucky, you’re so healthy!”

      Not really.

“I can’t eat that, it’s not healthy!”

       Oh, go cry me a river.

 

See?  It’s just obnoxious.  I prefer to use the words “good for you” and “nutritious”.  There’s no such thing as “eating healthy”.  And if you feel a need to proclaim your healthiness for the world, you’re probably either (a) insecure or (b) in dire need of a cookie.  Don’t get me wrong- I love healthy living blogs, vegan/vegetarian blogs, etc.  I’m talking more about the “real” world.  My great-great-grandfather used to own a pizza restaurant, and he passed down this great euphemism.  At least I think it’s a euphemism.  Correct me if I’m wrong.

It always amuses me when extremely overweight people order a large deep-dish sausage pizza with a Diet Coke to drink.

See?  It’s rather strange.

Anyway, what was the topic of this post again?  Oh yes, the muffin recipe.  These muffins have some nutritious substitutes in them.  They are higher in protein than ordinary banana muffins, and maybe a bit lower in fat and cholesterol, but not lower-calorie.  That wasn’t the goal.  Maybe they are.  Maybe they’re not.  But they’re good for your body and it will love you for giving it one of these.  Your taste buds will be happy, too. 🙂

 

Banana Protein Muffins

This recipe makes 6 muffins.  Start out by scooping 1/4 cup of your favorite peanut butter into a medium bowl.  We’re replacing the typical butter with peanut butter to add protein and cut down on saturated fat.  You could use almond or another nut butter if you’d like, but make sure you stir it really well first.

 Muffins 001

To the peanut butter, add a scant 1/4 cup of granulated sugar and 2 tablespoons of pure maple syrup.  Go ahead and use stevia or another natural sweetener (honey, agave) if you please.  My mom is allergic to stevia, so we don’t keep it around.

This looks appetizing…

 Muffins 002

Now mash in 2 small ripe bananas.  It helps if you mush the banana in the peel first, then open it and scoop the banana into the bowl.  Keep mashing until all the big chunks are gone.

 Muffins 004

Add in 1 egg white and 2 tablespoons Greek yogurt.  I used the Greek yogurt to see how it would work in the muffins (it works wonderfully, thanks for asking) but feel free to use the whole egg if you don’t like Gree-yo.  Mix everything together really well.  You can’t overmix at this point!

I tried to make the yogurt into an artsy swirl for this picture.

Um… you can pretend I never told you that.

 Muffins 005

Add 1/4 teaspoon each of vanilla extract, salt, and baking soda.  Add 1 cup of flour and stir everything together.  You want a few lumps in the batter, but no ginormous ones. 

Muffins 006

Add a few chocolate chips or chopped nuts if you’re in the mood.  I’m always in the mood.

To add chocolate chips, that is.

Pshhh.

Muffins 007

Line a muffin tin with 6 paper liners, and scoop the batter into each.  Make sure each muffin is about the same size so they all finish cooking at the same time.  I topped each muffin with a few more chocolate chips for good measure.

This silicon muffin pan doesn’t get any cleaner when I wash it.

That’s what you get when you buy bakeware off the $1 rack at Target.

I probably will continue to do that, though.

Muffins 008

Bake at 350 degrees F for 25-35 minutes.  Mine took 29 minutes and turned out perfect, but my oven is ancient and has a mind of its own.  Who knows what temperature it actually was.

Muffins 009

Enough said.  These are delicious and moist and lovely.  Bake them today and store them in a plastic container.  They’ll be even better the next day.

What is your favorite kind of muffin?

4 Responses to “Nutritious Banana Muffins”

  1. Matt August 4, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Those look great! I am totally with you on the word “healthy”. Life is way too short to over analyze things.

    • Courtney August 4, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 and yes, isn’t it ANNOYING?!

  2. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey August 8, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Lol, I love your style of writing, girl. It’s awesome. These muffins sound great! Do you think the flax-egg sub would work in them?

    • Courtney August 9, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 And I’ve never tried the flax egg trick, but I’m pretty sure it would work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

