POWER Banana Bread!

8 Aug

I think I make banana bread too often.

But it’s just so much fun!  I hardly ever make the type variation twice, unless it’s The Banana Bread, in which case I have the recipe memorized. =)

 

This bread is different, though.  Since getting my wisdom teeth removed, I’ve been trying to cram as much nutrition as possible into the soft foods I can eat.

Enter: POWER Banana Bread!!

 

It’s got a good balance of protein, healthy fats, fruit, antioxidants, and carbs.

At least, I think it does.  Don’t take my word.

 

It tastes awesome too.  There’s no butter, but you won’t miss it!

 

Instructions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a loaf pan with aluminum foil, then spray the foil with non-stick spray.  Set it aside while you make the batter.

2. Scoop 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter into a large bowl.  Add 1/2 cup packed brown sugar and 1/4 cup Greek yogurt.  Mix it all really well.

3. Stir in 1 egg and 3 mashed ripe bananas.  Then, add 1/4 cup protein powder, 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, and 1/4 teaspoon salt.  Mix it all really well!

4. If your batter looks dry, add a splash of milk.  I used skim, but any kind (dairy or not) will do!

5. Add a handful of dark chocolate chips.  Yummy!

6. Bake for 50-60 minutes, then cool completely on a wire rack.  Enjoy! =D

3 Responses to “POWER Banana Bread!”

  1. Sweet Cheeks August 8, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Mmmmm, I love banana bread! Haven’t made it in way too long though. I will have to save your recipe, thanks girl!

    • Courtney August 8, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

      No problem! Thank you so much for commenting on my blog 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention POWER Banana Bread! « courtney runs -- Topsy.com - August 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Laura West, Courtney. Courtney said: POWER Banana Bread!: http://wp.me/pR9WW-6U […]

Leave a Reply

