Chocolate Chip Almond Cookies

13 Aug

Yesterday, I made an impulse decision to buy this bag of almond meal.

005

I had no idea what I wanted to do with it, but the back of the bag suggested I use it to replace half the flour in chocolate-chip cookies for a moister cookie.

Hmmm… I’m always up for moist, chewy cookies.  These don’t disappoint- the dough is especially good.  The cookies don’t taste like almonds, per se, but have a crunchy-chewy, rich texture and a warm, yummy flavor.  It’s tough to describe, but I promise you they’re very good!

 

I started with 1 stick of unsalted butter, softened.

 001

Use an electric mixture to cream it with 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup granulated sugar.

 002

Add an egg, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda.

This isn’t how most people do it, but I’m anti-sifter and I see no difference in the cookies if you do it this way.  Plus it saves time, which is always good.

 003

Gradually add 3/4 cup each of almond meal and all-purpose flour.

 006

Don’t forget 1/2 cup chocolate chips!  I used Ghirardelli 58% dark chocolate chips, which have a nice snap and a rich, chocolatey flavor.

 007

Now dump the dough onto a piece of wax paper, and spread it into a nice rectangle.

009
Wrap it up like a little present.

008

Chill the dough in the freezer for 15-20 minutes.  The almond meal gives the dough a lighter, more mousse-like texture, so it’s important to chill it before you make the cookies.

I like this picture, and since I don’t have a photo of the dough in the freezer [oh NO!], I’ll put it here.

004

Cut the dough into squares, and shape them into round cookies.  These cookies spread A LOT, so I wouldn’t recommend putting more than 9 tablespoon-sized blobs of dough per cookie sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

010

3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Almond Cookies”

  1. cleaneatingchelsey August 13, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Hey Courtney! Thanks for stopping by! I’m so happy to hear you’re from my neck of the woods! I am thinking of trying to get a meet up together sometime soon if you’d like to join!

  2. Courtney August 13, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Oh yes, that sounds great! Where do you live now? Email me at runningfromtheheart@gmail.com if you’re not comfortable posting it here, I know I wouldn’t be! Thanks for visiting my blog, too 😀

  3. theseatedcook January 7, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    These look great! I recently made my own version with my first bag of Trader Joe’s almond meal (and am now using it more & more!)

Leave a Reply

