Eating Well at School

24 Aug

It’s back-to-school season, so some of you (me included) are going back to the wonderful, enchanted, dreary place called school.  My least favorite part of school is, strangely enough, having to sit in a desk for 6-7 hours a day.  I wish we could take classes while standing up or lying down… I hate sitting in those uncomfortable desks!  Anyway, if you want to stay alert for the entire day (yeah you do!), you need to eat foods that give you long-lasting energy.  Here are some of my favorites, and they all can work as part of a breakfast, lunch, or snacks.  When school starts I stock up on these items!

Almonds:

Almonds are the most vitamin-rich nut, containing plenty of protein, vitamin E, minerals like phosphorus and magnesium, and healthy fats.  The combination of proteins and fats gives them staying power.  I usually buy a big carton of salted, roasted almonds from the bulk bin at my grocery store, but if you aren’t a fan of almond flavor (yet), try these flavored oven-roasted ones.  They come in chocolate, cinnamon sugar, butter toffee, and honey, just to name a few.  Keep the container in your locker and grab some whenever you’re hungry.

 

Energy Bars I Love:

 NuGo Dark: Chocolate Chocolate Chip

This one’s vegan and dairy-free.

 

Dark Chocolate Cookies & Creme Bar

High protein, plenty of vitamins.

Sweet n’ salty… a better granola bar!

Hard to find, but awesome for breakfast.

 

Drinks:

Refreshing and full of vitamins.

Fizzy (I don’t know why, but fizzy drinks make me more alert) and zero calories, sugar, or artificial stuff.  Just water and natural flavor!

I like these because they’re portable and turn ordinary water into a fizzy, tasty, vitamin-rich drink.  Orange is my favorite, but there are tons of flavors.

 

Of course, no matter how many good things you eat and drink, school still means homework.  Which I need to do now.  More stuff coming soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

