I’m so sick of…

23 Sep

That’s the topic of my post today- stuff I’m really sick of.  I put it in list format so you can skim it… because skimming is one of the things I, and many people for that matter, are never sick of doing.

1. People asking me where I’m applying to college, then asking why I’m only applying to one.

Person (usually mom’s friend’s brother’s wife’s cousin or someone like that whom I don’t really know): Courtney, where are you applying to school?

Me: I’m applying to *Name of school*.

Person: Only one?  But what if you don’t get in?

Me: %#$%%^&$!!!!! (Now I launch into monologue about the entire early decision process).

Basically, when you want a college to know they’re your all-time absolute most favorite school ever, you apply early decision.  If you get accepted, you’re bound to that school, meaning you won’t apply anywhere else.  For selective or small schools, you have a higher chance of getting accepted if you apply early.

It’s not so much the long-winded explanation that bothers me, but peoples’ sheer reaction when I tell them I’m applying early decision.  I can’t quite describe it, but I’d equate it to the look you’d get if you had just done something really stupid.  The other person is shocked and somewhat scared.  Who knows why, I don’t see myself as a scary person… but then again, who knows.

 

2. People who smoke.

I’ll just say it: if you smoke cigarettes in public, where there are babies and children and people with asthma and puppies roaming about, I automatically don’t like you.  Sorry.  Today, while making the pilgrimage back to my car from school (it’s 1/2 mile away), three guys walking ahead of me were smoking.  And the wind blew the smoke into my face.  I’m one of those people who coughs loudly as I walk by smokers at the mall entrance for dramatic effect, but in this situation, I was actually coughing.  Seriously, I’m not going to tell you what to do, but if you’re going to smoke, do it in private.  Us non-smokers don’t really like the smell of carcinogens.

 

3. Foundation

No, not the kind underneath your house.  I’m talking about the kind on top of your face.  To everyone who wears foundation: I know you’re wearing it.  Everyone else does, too.  Especially when your face is darker than the rest of your body or there is a distinct line on color encircling your cheekbones.  It doesn’t look good.  Wash your face and you won’t need it.  Use some tinted moisturizer if you want.  And if you absolutely must wear foundation, (a) get the right color and (b) learn how to use it.

 

There will be additions to this list in the near future, but I’m a bit sick of typing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

