The Best Banana Muffins Ever

7 Nov

When I was a toddler, I refused to eat.

Except for these banana muffins.

My parents were worried, so they took me to the doctor.

She told them to just let me eat muffins.

If I lived off these for months, then they must be good.

 Muffins 002

They’re simple and delicious- perfect for breakfast, brunch; or if you’re toddler me, lunch and dinner, too.

 

This recipe comes from Creme de Colorado, an awesome 90’s cookbook.

Muffins 016

When you open the book, it flips to the page with the muffin recipe, haha.

Muffins 008 

Start by softening a stick of butter.  If you’re impatient like me, you’ll soften it in the microwave for 40 seconds.

Muffins 007

Cream it with 1 cup of light brown sugar, then crack in 2 eggs.

Muffins 010

Add 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking power, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

Muffins 011

Mash 3 large ripe bananas (or 4 medium bananas), and add them to the batter.

Muffins 006 

Now for the best part- the chocolate!  The original recipe says to add 3/4 cup each of mini chocolate chips and nuts, which you can totally do, but I don’t like nuts and I had a bar of 70% dark chocolate lying around.  I took the initiative, using 4 squares of chocolate.

Chop it lengthwise using a serrated (bread) knife.

Muffins 013

And crosswise, to make little chocolate bits.

Muffins 014

Add them to the batter.

Muffins 015

Now, please do me a favor.  Go out an buy a round ice cream scoop.  With one of those lever thingies.  Mine cost about $4.00 and was one of the best investments I’ve ever made.  Well, not really, but you get the idea.

Grease a 12-cup muffin tin, and scoop the batter into each well.

Muffins 017

You’ll get exactly 12 good-sized muffins.

Muffins 018 

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30-40 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown.  Let the muffins cool in the tin, then flip them out.  Store in a plastic container.

Muffins 001

2 Responses to “The Best Banana Muffins Ever”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree August 15, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    Ohmygoodness! I have that cookbook! I have never seen anyone else have it before-wow!

    • Courtney November 7, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Awesome… it is great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

